Follow-up: Checking again while logged in, and I don't see the denial info for the last model. It's just a blank submission form as usual, just like after every time the voting is reset. For comparison: when I submitted a bad link ages ago, I saw the denial before the next reset. I did get the info this way, so that's settled for me at least.
Curious. I reset the votes before processing the submissions. I wonder if the fact the submission came in before the reset is the reason why you didn't get the message, even if I denied it after the reset. I will definitely talk to my web developer about this - smells like an oversight!